*And the sign says you gotta have a membership card to get inside…*

Tuesday, May 25th, 2010

And the sign says “Long-haired freaky people need not apply”, so I put my hair up under my hat and I went in to ask him why. He said “You look like a fine outstanding young man, I think you’ll do.” So I took off my hat, I said “Imagine that, huh, me working for you.”

Signs, signs, everywhere there’s signs blockin’ up the scenery, breakin’ my mind. Do this, don’t do that, can’t you read the sign?

And the sign says “Anybody caught trespassing will be shot on sight”, So I jumped the fence and I yelled at the house “Hey! What gives you the right to put up a fence and keep me out, or to keep Mother Nature in? If God was here, he’d tell it to your face, man, you’re some kind of sinner.”

Signs, signs, everywhere there’s signs blockin’ up the scenery, breakin’ my mind. Do this, don’t do that, can’t you read the sign?

Oh, say now mister, can’t you read? You got to have a shirt and tie to get a seat. You can’t watch, no, you can’t eat, you ain’t supposed to be here. And the sign says you gotta have a membership card to get inside…

And the sign says “Everybody welcome, come in, kneel down and pray.” But then they passed around a plate at the end of it all, and I didn’t have a penny to pay. So I got me a pen and a paper and I made up my own fuckin’ sign, I said, “Thank you, Lord, for thinking ’bout me, I’m alive and doing fine.”

Signs, signs, everywhere there’s signs, blockin’ up the scenery, breakin’ my mind. Do this, don’t do that, can’t you read the sign? Signs, signs, everywhere there’s signs, blockin’ up the scenery, breakin’ my mind. Do this, don’t do that, can’t you read the sign?

“Signs” – Five Man Electrical Band (as performed by Tesla)

Signs. They’re everywhere. Not just the physical ones, the non-tangible ones as well. Prejudice, racism, stereotyping, they’re all there. The way someone looks at you, the way they speak a little slower if you’re hanging out with certain people, the way they watch you from across the room when you KNOW they’re whispering about every little aspect of your visible existence.

————

Take the lunch line at school today (last day, yay!). I was at the end due to waiting on my friend to give me some change that I needed to pay for my lunch. I happened to be behind some of my slightly-lower-on-the-social-foodchain classmates. So I’m standing there, with 15 cents in my hand to pay the last little bit I needed for lunch, when the girl behind me (who just so happens to be intensely disliked by everyone for her annoying personality and insistence that she can wear clothing made for people about half her weight and suck up to teachers) comments to her friend about being in the “ghetto section of the lunch line where people actually have to use spare change to buy their food.” I turn around to glare at her, and she tells her friend AS I’M WATCHING, “I didn’t know people like that *rolls eyes towards me* cared what people think of them.” It was seriously all I could do to keep from turning around and cussing her out. I was THIS CLOSE to telling her off completely. It was the last day, after all, what could they do to me?

But I was bigger than what my conscience was telling me to do, and I walked away. Trashed her here, but walked away.

Really people? Just because I wore jeans and a well-loved concert tee and had to use some money to pay for my lunch. My family is far from ghetto, and I hate it when people assume things. “Oh, but you brought it on yourself with your style and stuff,” pshh. I’m free to be me.

I know I sound like a total bitch right now, but it hurt more than you’d ever know…

3 comments on “*And the sign says you gotta have a membership card to get inside…*

  1. Hah I am honestly the only comment to this great writing!?

  2. gamergirlmisha.wordpress.com’s done it once again! Incredible article.

  3. Incredibly awesome writing. Truely.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

